website statistics

Moviola 1980 COMPLETE trilogy

Moviola 1980 COMPLETE trilogy

The novel tells the fictional story of Ben Farber, an immigrant who arrives in Hollywood at the beginning of its Golden Era. Farber narrates the story of his life, interwoven with the legendary events and people that made Hollywood the Movie Capital of the World. Farber’s story involves interaction with Greta Garbo, interaction with David and Myron Selznick during the talent search for the perfect Scarlett O’Hara, and experiences relating to the discovery of Marilyn Monroe, among other people and events.

Moviola was subsequently adapted into a three-part miniseries for NBC in 1980; the episodes have also been distributed as stand-alone TV movies:

-This Year’s Blonde
Follows the early career of Marilyn Monroe and her relationship with Hollywood agent Johnny Hyde.

-The Scarlett O’Hara War
The film follows the trials and tribulations of David O. Selznick as he attempts to find an actress to play the role of Scarlett O’Hara in Gone with the Wind (1939).

-The Silent Lovers
Follows the arrival of Greta Garbo in Hollywood, and her ill fated affair with fellow star John Gilbert.